Harmony Plains was founded in 1964 by a small group of people who desired to learn to sing better praises to their God and King. This is how Elder J. E. Barrington and Sister Rachel Taylor wanted history to record the founding. They had the idea, put it together, and started it, but they never allowed themselves any recognition for their work.
The first session of the Harmony Plains Singing School was held the week of August 3 to 7, 1964, at the Lakeview School House, in Lakeview, TX. Enrollment was 68. The instructors for that first session were John Taylor, Karen Hausenfluke, Sara Hausenfluke, Mary Nixon, and Joe Taylor.
The second annual session was held in the New Salem Primitive Baptist Church building in Floydada, TX, the week of July 19 to 23, 1965. Enrollment was 143 with ages ranging from two to sixty-eight years.
In time for the third annual session in 1966, a permanent home was secured for Harmony Plains Singing School: the Cone School House, in Cone, TX. The building has taken on many new additions and improvements, and it stands as a monument to its construction in 1923.